Think again. Let me add to the list above, your LIBRARY PATRONS don’t think so!

In my previous job as a digital marketing consultant my customers always seemed to act like social media would go away eventually. Over the past few years its just gotten more and more of a constant. Which makes it as necessary as having a website. Social media is where the people are, so that’s where as a business you need to be. Here are some cold hard facts that prove it but in a brightly colored graphic package! Enjoy the infographic after the break!

Which of these stats surprised you? The 96% of all people under the age of 30 one sure surprised me. But I have a friend who teaches kindergarten and her kids already know what Facebook is.

7 responses »

  1. Fara M. says:

    Nice graphics, Lola! You have a good eye for design.

    The “700 billion minutes spent on Facebook” each month surprised me. I knew the number would be high, but that sounds extraordinary. I can’t help but think what would happen if some of those minutes were spent trying to solve a huge problem, like hunger or poverty?

  2. Trista Nelson says:

    Lola this is completely off topic, but I was trying to figure out how you created these graphics and I noticed the “one lily creative agency” logo at the bottom. I went to that page and still didn’t figure out how you did it, but I noticed this cool little bar at the bottom of the page that showed if the company was online and gave quick links to the companies social media pages. That would be super handy for a library webpage.

    If you could give any tips for creating graphics I would really appreciate it. You really do a wonderful job.

    • Stephanie says:

      Trista, just to answer your question– I think One Lily is the company that created the infographic. Though Lola can correct me if I’m wrong. 🙂

  3. Heather Lander says:

    Lola, you did a great job! Your graphics are wonderful! For 6080 our group is working on Facebook and I came across some great Facebook facts that really surprised me! Actually, this is not listed on your infographic, but on another infographic that I saw it also said that over 2 billion posts are liked and commented on every single day and 250 million photos are uploaded every day. You are definitely right that social media is not a fad, it seems that everyone uses these sites now (even my grandma has a Facebook). If you are interested, here is the link to the other infographic I saw: http://mashable.com/2011/10/21/facebook-infographic/

  4. Richard A. says:

    It’s true that Library Patrons don’t think social media is a fad, but that raises two questions:
    1. Are they right?
    2. Even if they are not, does it matter?

    These are definite questions regarding the relationship of the library to the community. Should the library invest in programs that the community is interested in? Is it important for there to be an organized system that allows the community to tell the library that it should invest resources in something?
    I think that it is not sufficient for the library to make decisions based on intuitive assumptions about community interest. Anne’s post “Strategies for Successfully Advertising Libraries on Facebook”(“https://librarysocial.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/strategies-for-successfully-advertising-libraries-on-facebook/”) brings up interesting questions about whether libraries should use the traditional advertising model offered on Facebook. Yet, it is also unclear how much patrons are interested in interacting with their libraries in a social way on the platform as well.

    I wonder if, as Anne suggested, it is better to use Facebook as a forum for stories about the library. And if these stories are posted on Facebook, why not send them to the local paper as well? If so, ‘doing Facebook’ wouldn’t be as separated from other releases that a library regularly does. I think that this sort of balancing could help libraries with tight budgets. It is understandable that a library might not think that any of its staff could dedicate time to social media. But I think that a better question is how efforts that are already made could be adapted to social media. This might be a more efficient solution. It’s true that this doesn’t make full use of the tools offered, and it doesn’t entirely fit within the philosophy of Web 2.0, but it might be better than nothing for a busy library.

  5. Michelle John says:

    Lola,
    For our group project in 6080, I researched Google+ and its potential in libraries. G+ pages for libraries have only been available since November 2011. I corresponded with librarians that have G+ pages and they found the number of people following their G+ page is steadily increasing. They also stated they share similar information on both their G+ pages and Facebook Pages, as a way of ensuring they are reaching everyone. One library, Dakota County Technical College Library, found they now have more users following their G+ page than their Facebook page. Like you stated in your blog, with all of your facts, I think social media is here to stay. For librarians we should take advantage of it and use it as another tool to provide and share information.
    Michelle John

  6. Krystal Ankawi says:

    This was really fascinating! I, too, believe that social media is here for the long haul. While it has some downs (mostly improper usage), I think the ups outweigh it. My dad owns his own business and I set up a page for him and he uses it to promote new products – I think it’s better than an email being sent out. It’s way quicker to just post a little blurb with a picture and let people comment and ask questions that others may have!

Leave a Reply

